Homework Assignment

40

40 (Photo credit: Krynowek Eine)

Pastor Kate Harrigan assigned homework as part of her sermon on Sunday.  We were asked to google the number “40”, learn what we can about it, and then SHOW UP ON SUNDAY.

As Keith and I worked on  this assignment we were reminded that “40 (How Long)” is a song by Irish Band U2 based on the first 3 verses of Psalm 40.

I waited patiently for the Lord
He inclined and heard my cry
He lift me up out of the pit
Out of the mire and clay

I will sing, sing a new song
I will sing, sing a new song

How long to sing this song?
How long to sing this song?
How long…how long…how long…
How long…to sing this song

He set my feet upon a rock
And made my footsteps firm
Many will see
Many will see and hear

I will sing, sing a new song
I will sing, sing a new song

(Sing it!)

How long to sing this song?
How long to sing this song?
How long…how long…how long…
How long…to sing this song

You can find a performance of the song with Lyrics here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XzHlySYR_Y

What did anyone else find out about “40?”

Published in: on February 19, 2013 at 12:10 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stpaulsshipsblog.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/homework-assignment/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

