Lenten Reflection for Tue 2/19/2013

Psalm am: 45 pm: 47, 48
Deuteronomy 9:4-12 Hebrews 3:1-11
John 2:13-22

“Your path led through the sea, your way through the majestic waters, though the “Footprints” were not seen.”  —–Psalm 22-19

This Bible verse brought to mind the poem, “Footprints”, and the impact it had on
my life at a time when I was experiencing tremendous emotional pain from the
loss of our daughter.
On September 29th, 2007 while attending the Praise and Worship for Women Program
at Saint Paul’s Episcopal Church, we were asked to take a piece of paper
from a basket, and surprisingly, my sheet read, “Rejoice.” It was as though Jesus
was giving me a message of encouragement as I was struggling through “Troubled
Waters.” “Rejoice” as Jesus had been saying to me in different ways for several
days to remind me, that although my journey was faced with many challenges, he
was there with me to calm the turbulent waters. My “Church Sisters” gave me
great comfort during that evening as I shared my painful journey, yet, I still did
not feel or see the presence of Jesus. Suddenly, I again glanced at the piece of
paper with the word, “Rejoice”, and almost immediately it took me to the poem,
“Footprints.”
As in the Psalm 22 Biblical Verse,
“Your path led through the sea, your way through the majestic waters, though the
“Footprints” were not seen.”
I recalled the words that were highlighted for me in the poem;
“But I have noticed that during the most troublesome times in my life,
There is only one set of footprints. I don’t understand why at times when I
needed you most, you should leave me. The Lord replied, “My precious child, I
love you and I would never leave you. During you times of trial and suffering.
When you saw only one set of footprints, it was then I carried you.
Ann Scott
Wife – Mother – Grandmother

Published in: on February 19, 2013 at 12:13 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stpaulsshipsblog.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/lenten-reflection-for-tue-2192012/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

