Sometimes you need to laugh

English: Children from Sunday School pose outs...

English: Children from Sunday School pose outside the Providence Chapel, Sheriff Hill in 1907. Photograph taken from Gateshead Council public archives (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

HEAVEN

 

 

I was testing the children in my Sunday School class to see if

 

they understand the concept to heaven.

 

 

I asked them, “If I sold my house and my car, had a big garage

 

sale and gave all my money to the church, would that get me

 

into Heaven?”

 

 

“NO!” the children answered

 

 

“If I cleaned the church every day, mowed the yard, and kept

 

everything neat and tidy, would that get me into Heaven?”

 

 

Again, the answer was, “NO!”

 

 

By now I was starting to smile.

 

 

Hey this was fun!

 

 

“Well, then, if I was kind to animals and gave candy to all the

 

children, and loved my husband, would that get me into

 

Heaven?” I asked them again.

 

 

Again, they all answered, “NO!”

 

 

I was just bursting with pride for them.

 

 

“Well,” I continued, “then how can I get into Heaven?”

 

 

A five

 

 

year

 

 

old boy shouted out,

 

 

“YOU GOTTA BE DEAD!”

 

 

Thanks to St Paul‘s Episcopal ChurchColumbia, PA from whose newsletter this was borrowed.

 

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stpaulsshipsblog.wordpress.com/2013/03/04/sometimes-you-need-to-laugh/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi, thank You for wisdom;
    don´t worry I am laughing a lot – faith is a fountain of joy
    I have to laugh watching photos of animals with “human attitudes”.
    Exercising that there is no “human attitude” only reserved for human
    beings. Please, visit one of my other blogs http://www.spiritandanimal.wordpress.com/ – there are sometimes photos like I described here.
    Annamaria
    I am sure You know what this name means in Hebrew!

    • AnnaMaria – Thanks for your comment. I am glad the posting made you laugh. As Christians we sometimes take ourselves and our work all too seriously! We need to take a step back and laugh at ourselves from time to time, as well as appreciate the wisdom of children. I am grateful for the work you do on behalf of animals, however please don’t post those links here unless they relate to the topic in some way.


Leave a Reply

