Lenten Reflection for Tue 3/5/2013

Christ the Saviour (Pantokrator), a 6th-centur...

Christ the Saviour (Pantokrator), a 6th-century encaustic icon from Saint Catherine’s Monastery, Mount Sinai. NB – slightly cut down – for full size see here (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Psalm am: 78:1-39
pm: 78:40-72 Jeremiah 7:21-34
Romans 4:13-25 John 7:37-52

 

7 so that they should set their hope in God, and not forget the works of God,
but keep his commandments;8 and that they should not be like their ancestors,
a stubborn and rebellious generation, a generation whose heart was not steadfast,
whose spirit was not faithful to God.   —-Psalm 78:7-8

 
All the texts for this day point to God’s unending provision and grace. The Psalmist, the Prophet Jeremiah,
and Jesus in John’s Gospel all remind us that we are provided with food, water, and direction
(hope) when we were (and are) in the desert, even when we are less than grateful to receive it. Paul’s
letter to the Romans continues to reinforce that God will not forget covenant made with Abraham and
that it extends to all who put their hope in God. Over and over we forget this promise and so we need
to be reminded. For me this calls to mind a praise song I first heard sung in worship at New Hope
Community  which comes out of Hillsong Church in Australia. It spoke deeply to me at a time I felt lost, powerfully reminding me
of God’s promises and that I “…should set my hope in God and not forget the works of God, but keep God’s commandments…”

 

This is my prayer in the desert
When all that’s within me feels dry
This is my prayer in my hunger and need
My God is the God who provides
This is my prayer in the fire
In weakness or trial or pain
There is a faith proved
Of more worth than gold
So refine me Lord through the flame

 

CHORUS:
I will bring praise
I will bring praise
No weapon formed against me shall remain
I will rejoice
I will declare
God is my victory and He is here
This is my prayer in the battle
When triumph is still on its way
I am a conqueror and co-heir with Christ
So firm on His promise I’ll stand

 

BRIDGE:
All of my life
In every season
You are still God
I have a reason to sing
I have a reason to worship
This is my prayer in the harvest
When favour and providence flow
I know I’m filled to be emptied again
The seed I’ve received I will sow

 

 

Pamela Parson – lover of all living things,
listener, reader, writer,
sinner, seeker, and sometimes pilgrim

 

 

Published in: on March 5, 2013 at 12:26 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stpaulsshipsblog.wordpress.com/2013/03/05/lenten-reflection-for-tue-352013/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

