Lenten Reflection for Thur 3/7/2013

White-tailed deer in Toronto, Canada

White-tailed deer in Toronto, Canada (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Psalm am: 42, 43
pm: 85, 86 Jeremiah 10:11-24
Romans 5:12-21 John 8:21-32


As the deer longs for the water-brooks, so longs my soul for you, O God—-Psalm 42

How did this wonderful Psalm fall into my hands for the Lenten Reflection? I didn’t
choose it ahead of time, I promise! And I’ll admit, while I like the psalm, what I really love
is the modern song that sounds to me like a love song to God:

As the deer longs for the water
So my soul longs after You
You alone are my heart’s desire
And I long to worship You
Chorus You alone are my strength, my shield
To You alone may my spirit yield
You alone are my heart’s desire
And I long to worship You
You’re my friend and You are my brother
Even though You are a king
And I love You more than any other
So much more than anything
I want You more than gold or silver
Only You can satisfy
You alone are the real joy giver
And the apple of my eye

I live where I can see deer. When I’m at home in Georgia, we live in the middle of deer
country. They are gentle, graceful creatures. God’s love is gentle and filled with grace.
And yes, I like being in love with God.

Dear Lord, You alone are my heart’s desire and I long to worship you. Amen

Kate Harrigan,
Mother and Wife, Teacher and Priest

Published in: on March 7, 2013 at 12:33 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stpaulsshipsblog.wordpress.com/2013/03/07/lenten-reflection-for-thur-372013/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

